In special occasions, the Architectural Foundation makes small awards in support of other groups or projects that are consistent with the goals and mission of the Foundation. The Santa Barbara Chapter of the American Institute of Architects is a frequent recipient of modest funding awards for programs that have a mutual interest. Additionally, special awards have been presented to projects and individuals in support of excellence in architecture and design.

•James Osborn Craig memorial cross restoration grant award.

Via a donation from Kent and Tanny Hodgetts, the AFSB awarded monies to fabricate and install a replica of the original wrought iron cross marking the grave of James Osborne Craig, prominent local architect who practiced with his wife Mary Craig, and died in 1922. Craig (and later his wife) was the architect of El Paseo and the Hoffman House. Architect Bill Mahan provided measured drawings and ironwork artist David Shelton created the cross.  The installation ceremony was attended by Craig’s daughter Mary, granddaughter Pam, Kellam de Forest, Sue Adams and Mary Louise Days (among others).

JOC Cross

• Erin Feeney Sustainable Architecture Travel Grant award.

In 2007 the AFSB awarded Erin Feeney, a local graduate architectural student, a small stipend to support her Michael Keegan Travelling Fellowship, a post-graduate learning experience opportunity which she was awarded from Vanderbilt University. Erin’s award allowed her to encounter vernacular architecture of regions around the world which are threatened by the homogenizing forces of globalization.